Friday Night Locks: Georgia looks great on my “Misleading Finals” screen

Yes, Georgia only beat North Texas 45-21 last week despite being 34 point favorites. Yes, LSU handled SEC foe Auburn 35-21.

For you Georgia Bulldog fans…

I submit to you that both finals do not tell the whole story, and Georgia is the screaming value play of the weekend as a three-point favorite at home in the elite matchup of the weekend.

I prefer to bet the smaller schools and the less elite matchups as i assume I have an information advantage in those…but the misleading finals of the previous week (like POY Oregon) often lead me to games like this.

The line has not moved off of UGA -3 / Total 62 all week giving me more confidence in the play. Some rationale below.North Texas had two Special Teams TDs (h/t to mighty mite NT WR Brelan Chancelllor)  in the loss to UGA, and I have to believe their guard will be up against the strong athletes of LSU. LSU barely outgained Auburn, nor did they benefit from huge net turnover margin (only 1).

Strength of Schedule favors Georgia also – LSU aggregate stats are inflated by small school opponents, and I have a nagging suspicion that TCU is just not as good as we are accustomed.

I would call this a max bet if the turnover data were more in Georgia favor – nonetheless I find this a compelling play.

Lots of technicals at TheSpread.com for your enjoyment.

some other nibbles I like this week

Western Kentucky is a home dog to Navy, so split your normal bet between the +3 and the +140 ML)…Antonio Andrews will be WAY too much to handle for the Midshipmen, and WKU has proven itself against some higher competition.

Oklahoma State at West Virgina OVER 58…Oklahoma State can put this up themselves against the fine cheesecloth of a defense, and their is always a chance that the Dana Holgorson offense led by RB/WR Charles Sims could wake up.

One thought on “Friday Night Locks: Georgia looks great on my “Misleading Finals” screen

  1. A push for many, some got UGA -2.5 and squeaked out a win!
    WKU not exactly dominant, but a home dog with the Huss Hedge winning 19-7 made you 120%!!!
    Oklahoma State – WVU OVER 58 a miss in the WVU upset win – not even close. Stil very much a winning college weekend!

Leave a comment